Type Specimen Book – Alda

Screen Shot 2019-12-16 at 10.25.18 AM.png

This is a spread from a type specimen book for the typeface “Alda.” This is a particular spread that stood out to me because even though it is somewhat busy and crowded, it is designed and put together very well. One of the first things that I noticed was the use of color, and I think the warm color scheme fits well with the typeface. I also like that the author provides hand-drawn experimentation in order to gain a better grasp of the typeface’s structure. From a distance, my eye is drawn to the top orange section, which displays the different variations of Alda, and I think this is a good focal point because the movement is then from the large display type to the more detailed body copy. This flow, along with the overall structure of the spread, does a great job expressing this typeface and its personality.

Leave a comment