Type Specimen Book

While exploring the link to emigre.com from blackboard, I came across Lo-Res which is a bitmap typeface that personally brings back feelings of nostalgia. Similar to what the author mentioned, it reminds me of the classic Pokémon games my siblings and I would play on our Nintendo Game Boys. Bitmap typefaces were rejected by many readers before our generation but have begun to make a comeback as more of our generation are entering the design workforce. The layout of this specimen book mimics an old computer screen full of boxes, which is what really caught my eye and what appeals to others of this generation who grew up reading the bitmap font used in the videogames from our childhood. The type specimen book isn’t too interesting, but I enjoyed the look of the font and how they showed its personality.

Leave a comment