Identifying Fonts

IMG_2556
Screen Shot 2019-09-10 at 8.22.01 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-10 at 8.16.02 PM

I decided to find the fonts on my Suave lotion bottle. I used WhatTheFont.com and after much deliberation I decided that the closest match to the SUAVE font in the logo is Ciabatta Regular Italic. The easiest similarities to notice are the contrast in the letters and the curvature in the spurs. I believe that the S was most likely edited by a designer for the logo. The only other extremely noticeable difference in the caps of the u, the caps on the original font are completely flat where in Ciabatta Regular they have a slight curve. I also identified the main text used on the rest on the bottle as a version of Sky Sans. The most obvious identifiers were the lack of contrast in the letters and the flat apex’s. The C’s barbs are slightly different, but overall this is the closest match I could find.

Leave a comment